Where All Are Welcome
Call the Parish office : (916) 985-2065

The Catholic Church

St. John the Baptist Catholic Church and our Parishioners are members of the Body of Christ, The Catholic Church.

The Catholic Church, also known as the Roman Catholic Church, is the world's largest Christian church, with more than a billion members. The Pope is the head of the Church and College of Bishops. A communion of the Western church and 22 Eastern Catholic churches, it comprised a total of 2,795 dioceses in 2008. The Church defines its mission as spreading the gospel of Jesus Christ, administering the sacraments and exercising charity. It operates social programs and institutions throughout the world including schools, universities, hospitals, missions, shelters and charities.

The Church teaches that it is the "One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church" founded by Jesus Christ, that its bishops are consecrated successors of his apostles and that the Pope as the successor of St. Peter possesses a universal primacy of jurisdiction and pastoral care. Church doctrines have been defined through 21 ecumenical councils and the Church maintains that by guidance of the Holy Spirit, it can define its teachings on faith and morals infallibly under specific conditions. Our beliefs are based on the Holy Bible and Sacred Tradition interpreted by the Church's teaching authority and detailed in the Catechism of the Catholic Church. Catholic worship is called the liturgy, the central component of which is the Eucharist.